SOG: Team History and Insignia of a Clandestine Army, Vol. 2
September 29, 2016
Early FOB#2 Hatchet Force Patch
March 7, 2017
Show all



92 in stock



Released in 2017, this is the tenth edition in the MAC V SOG series by Jason M. Hardy. The limited publication of 500 copies are hard cover with a dust jacket, 400 pages, glued and sewn binding, over 1000 period images of personnel, documents, letters home and artifacts on heavy archival paper.

The book series breaks down the history of reconnaissance teams assigned to Military Assistance Command Vietnam, Studies and Observations Group (MAC V SOG), OPS-35 (Ground Reconnaissance) in a chronological pictorial order from creation to stand down. The men who served in the unit have cooperated with first hand interviews, provided never seen before period pictures and the history of the team: stating who they served with, reconnaissance missions ran, tactics that were implemented and the design of the team’s insignia. The book is enhanced with the help of team members and collectors that supplied wartime artifacts that were worn or used by the veterans. Items only previously read about were professionally photographed and are now shown in full color.

MAC V SOG: TEAM HISTORY OF A CLANDESTINE ARMY, Volume 10 (X) covers the history of Recon Teams: Alaska (CCN), Asp (CCN), Diamondback (CCN) and Virginia (CCN). The author has identified the following individuals to have served on one or more of the teams during his tour / tours in Vietnam.

RECON TEAM ALASKA: Richard D. Warren, David K. Kauhaahaa, Wilbur Donaldson, Domingo R.S. Borja, Harry L. Stewart, Sean B. Murphy, Larry T. Manes, Wade H. Benson Jr., David Armenta, Henry K. Michniak, Richard R. Mullowney Jr., Dann L. Cahoon, Joseph L. Devilla-Abrille, Richard J. Dalley, Perry O. Parkes, Gary A. Gearhart, Robert T. Gulley, James D. Wheeler, Robert S. Cedars, Thomas P. Groark, Charles F. Trucks, Mervin J. Libby, Danny D. Entrican, Gary L. Hollingsworth, Gordon D. Sparling, Julius Maynard and Dale W. Dehnke.

RECON TEAM ASP: George R. Brown, Alan L. Boyer, Charles G. Huston, Melvel T. Westerfield, Larry L. Trimble, Anthony J. Bandiera Jr., Philip L. Quinn, Eugene G. Pugh, Michael E. Kinnear, Lynn R. Thompson, George B. G. Robb, Donald J. Maley, Kenneth R. Wimmer, James D. Wheeler, Robert W. Ramsey IV, Lucis E. Delk, Klaus Y. Bingham, Martin D. Wilson, James M. Luttrell, Robert S. Sinton, Lewis C. Walton, Jess J. Thompson, Oran L. Bingham Jr., Darrald R. Wells, William R. Queen, Joseph M. Haro, John F. Mills and Rodney Tolentino.

RECON TEAM DIAMONDBACK: Curtis Marcum, Paul C. King Jr., James M. Hall, Wayne L. Hawes, Michael J. McKibban, Peter H. McMurry, David P. Peter, Michael E. Kinnear, Laurie A. Whitlark, Thomas D. Pay, Lowell L. Dahmen, Joseph W. Helme, David W. Oelke, Kenneth R. Wimmer and Richard R. Dressler.

RECON TEAM VIRGINIA: John C. McGovern, Stephen C. Bayliss, Richard W. Childers, Doug L. LeTourneau, Gunther H. Wald, William T. Brown, Henry L. Thompson III, Craig J. Stephenson, Sidney L. Shafer, Roger L. Teeter, William H. Moore, Keith J. Messinger, Michael C. Heinricy, Larry G. Brasier, Alber McCoy Jr., Colin C. Chaffee, Guy K. Wagy, Mark L. McPherson, Fred Vela and Thomas B. Corbett.

Reviews 0


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “MAC V SOG: TEAM HISTORY OF A CLANDESTINE ARMY, Vol. 10 (X)”